Motocycle Insurance – Minimum Liability Laws by State
Most states require motorcycle owners to buy a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage Liability Insurance before they can legally drive their motorcycles. The chart below indicates each state’s motorcycle insurance requirement and liability minimums and maximums. The first number indicates the bodily injury liability maximum for one person injured in an accident. The second number indicates bodily injury liability maximum for all injuries in one accident. The third number is the property damage liability maximum for one accident.
- Bodily Injury Liability – $10,000 per person
- Bodily Injury Liability – $20,000 per incident
- Property Damage Liability – $10,000 per incident
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – not required in Florida (but is available)
State by State
|STATE||MINIMUM LIABILITY LIMITS (in thousands)||MOTORCYCLE INSURANCE REQUIRED|
|District of Columbia||25/50/10 and 25/50/5 for uninsured motorist coverage||Yes|
|Iowa||Must have proof of financial responsibility||No|
|Minnesota||30/60/10 and 25/50 for uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage||Yes|
|New York||25/50/10 and 50/100 for death and for death if there are multiple fatalities in an accident|| |
|Oregon||25/50/20 and 25/50 for uninsured motorist coverage||Yes|
Sources: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Legislation is continually changing. Therefore, this information is not intended to be exhaustive nor should any discussion or opinions be construed as legal advice. Readers should contact appropriate legal counsel for advice.
This information is not intended to be exhaustive nor should any discussion or opinions be construed as professional advice. Should you have any questions or would like to discuss your risk exposure with your motorcycle insurance, please contact the insurance pros at ARCW Insurance. We are here to help.